A Bit More Detail

Assorted Personal Notations, Essays, and Other Jottings

[PHOTO] Strawberry Fields, five days later

I thought I’ll tonight repost my post of the 11th of June, 2012, resharing the photos I took that day of the Strawberry Fields memorial to John Lennon in New York City’s Central Park.

* * *

I certainly wasn’t the only person visiting Strawberry Fields earlier this afternoon, a section of Central Park adjacent to West 72nd Street that was landscaped as a memorial to John Lennon. The central focus of the area is a circular mosaic, inlaid with the word “Imagine” at the centre and surrounded by offerings and people genuflecting, like the woman wearing a Doctor Who T-shirt in the first photo below, or–unphotographed–like me.

Strawberry Fields (1)

Strawberry Fields (2)

Strawberry Fields (3)

Strawberry Fields (4)

Written by Randy McDonald

December 8, 2016 at 9:59 pm

