A Bit More Detail

Assorted Personal Notations, Essays, and Other Jottings

[FORUM] How have your neighbourhoods evolved?

My neighbourhood of Dovercourt Village, and the west-end neighbourhoods surrounding it where I have spent most of the past decade, has evolved significantly. In brief, gentrification has started, with higher-end residential and retail options coming to join–perhaps, eventually, to replace–what had been a substantially working-class enclave. The transition has been good for me, so far, but I do fear what might yet come.

What about you? How has your neighbourhood been changing? Has it been consistently changing in any particular direction? What do you feel about this?

Discuss.

Written by Randy McDonald

December 18, 2016 at 11:30 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am in Dublin’s Stoneybatter, once a working class area close to the city centre and now being colonised by hipsters. I am not salt of the earth working class but I am not kewl enough to be a hipster. The hipsterisation is good for me as it means more cafes and bars I might want to go into. I don’t know what traditional Stoneybatter residents make of it.

    ianmoore3000

    December 19, 2016 at 6:34 pm


Comments are closed.

